Port Ellen and Brora absent from 2018 Special Releases

13th April, 2018 by Nicola Carruthers

Diageo has named nine of the 10 whiskies in the 2018 edition of its Special Releases collection, which will not include expressions from coveted distilleries Port Ellen and Brora.

Diageo has revealed nine of the 10 whiskies in its 2018 Special Releases

Diageo has revealed nine of the 10 whiskies in its 2018 Special Releases

Ten Scotch whiskies are to be released in strictly limited quantities as part of Diageo’s ongoing Special Releases programme.

For the first time since the collection’s launch in 2001, single malts Port Ellen and Brora will not be included in the range. This follows Diageo’s announcement in October last year that it will restart production at the two closed distilleries by 2020.

This year’s selection features a 48-year-old from the silent Lowland grain distillery Carsebridge and a 28-year-old from the Pittyvaich distillery in Speyside, which closed in 1993.

Donald Colville, Diageo’s global malts ambassador, said: “The Special Releases launch is a highlight in our whisky calendar year. It’s a collection that allows both knowledgeable whisky fans and those new to Scotch to hunt out truly unique limited-editions.

“The range delivers memorable taste experiences unlike any other and the exceptional variety and quality of whiskies in this year’s collection will not disappoint.”

The final 10th bottling will be revealed later this year.

Each whisky will be available this autumn from specialist retailers in Europe, the US, Canada, Australia, South Africa and selected Asian markets.

Click through the following pages to preview Diageo’s Special Releases 2018.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to our newsletter